About Me

I’ve been in Guiding for almost 9 years now.  I grew up in Guides, I started as a Brownie in the ‘80s and went through to Pathfinders.  I’m in my second year now as a Unit Guider with Sparks.

This is me as a Girl Guide in the 80s (I’m the one kneeling in the forefront).

In addition to the basic training and safety checks involved in becoming a Unit Guider I have completed additional trainings.  I’ve completed a series of courses on Spark-level programming and working with girls aged 5 & 6.


I’m a recognized Outdoor Activity Leader (OAL), I’ve completed my OAL Residential training and earned a green TEAM pin.  This means I have specific training in designing, organizing and running Girl Guide indoor overnight events for the youth.


I also have my Yellow TEAM enrichment pin, which means that I’ve attended a number of additional training programs, seminars, conferences etc.

Image result for first aid pin

Additionally, I am also a First Aider for our unit, which means I have up-to-date training from the Red Cross in standard and emergency first aid.  

I live in a semi-rural area of Ontario, Canada. We are a small community and my current Sparks Unit is 18 girls! We are lucky to have a very dedicated group of Guiders in my local community.

I grew up in Toronto, then Mississauga.  I spent my summers on our family farm, working and playing with my many cousins.  I attended university both in the U.S. and in Toronto. I was in Nursing since I was 22 years old (worked Emergency for 10 years) and I also have degrees in Cultural Anthropology and Health Science.

Image may contain: outdoor
Killarney Provincial Park 1997. Taking a quick nap during a vigorous backpacking trip.

As a youth I loved backpacking and canoeing.  My friends and I spent as much time as possible at Algonquin Provincial Park, exploring the interior. I’ve hiked most of the Appalachian Trail and I’ve worked as an outfitter leading groups on adventures in the Blue Ridge and Appalachian Mountains.  I’ve travelled extensively all over Europe, North Africa and the Middle East. I’ve even ridden a camel to camp in the Sahara Desert!

Image may contain: 1 person, sky, ocean, outdoor and nature
During my camping trip in the Sahara Desert.

Now that I’m a little older, most of my outdoor activities involve my children, which has opened up a whole new world of fun!  My daughter and I have been camping together since she was 1 year old. She and I now enjoy many adventures each summer in our provincial parks as well as at Girl Guide camps.  We especially enjoy kayaking, canoeing, SUPs and hiking. We also travel quite a bit as a family.

Image may contain: sky, outdoor, nature and water
My Daughter Dancing in the Mermaid Pool when we were camping at Bon Echo Provincial Park in 2018.

My next goals in Guiding are to take on more of a leadership role within the organization and to get some more of my outdoor certifications.